Quality guaranteed

Accreditation has different meanings across the academic and professional worlds.

As part of a Royal Charter institution, the quality and rigour of our programmes are guaranteed.

Institutional and professional accreditation

In the UK, academic institutions have an accreditation status by virtue of degree-awarding powers (recognised bodies) through a Royal Charter or an Act of Parliament.

In the professional world, a number of chartered bodies accredit awards, in particular disciplines such as engineering and other sciences. Such accreditation is recognised by equivalent organisations internationally and may be a requirement for professional practice.

Voluntary Accreditation

Many of the programmes within Edinburgh Business School and the School of Social Sciences are formally recognised by professional accrediting bodies.

These programmes have been reviewed by professional bodies such as the Chartered Management Institute (CMI) to ensure they reach a set standard.

Edinburgh Business School's MBA and MSc in Financial Management programmes have official accreditation from the Association of Chartered Certified Accountants (ACCA). On the basis of our MBA and MSc Financial Management programmes, graduates from 2019 onwards will now receive exemption from up to five of the ACCA papers:

Accounting in Business

Management Accounting

Financial Accounting

Performance Management

Financial Management

Recognition and credit transfer

Awards from UK universities are typically accepted as being equivalent to similar business qualifications across the world.

At Edinburgh Business School, we assess the equivalence of international qualifications for the purposes of matriculation and awarding exemptions and/or credit transfers. We make use of UK Naric, a national agency that provides information on international qualifications. Naric is part of a wider network of centres across Europe, Australia, Canada, New Zealand and the US.

In Europe, the Bologna process seeks to develop mutual recognition of qualifications and support student mobility. Scotland was one of the first of 45 countries to commit to this process to verify the compatibility of its national education framework (the SCQF) with an overarching qualifications framework developed for the European Higher Education Area (EHEA).

The SCQF credit system is based on learning hours, with one credit within the system equivalent to ten learning hours. EBS courses are based on 20 credits at Masters level (200 learning hours). This translates as ten ECTS credits under the European system. Both the SCQF and ECTS systems are based on total learning hours; this differs from the US system, which is based on credit hours equal to the hours spent in the classroom. Typically, the Scottish tariff can be divided by four to illustrate equivalence to a US system.